NBC says Twitter initiated complaint on Guy Adams; Update: Reinstated


http://twitter.com/#!/Independent/status/230233554892779520

As Twitchy reported yesterday, The Independent’s Guy Adams was suspended from Twitter over disparaging tweets aimed at NBC’s total fail of Olympics coverage. While it was reported yesterday that NBC initiated the complaint, new information seems to indicate that Twitter alerted NBC executives to the tweets and told them to file a complaint.

NBC says Twitter alerted them to Adams's tweets and told them how to file a complaint http://t.co/oeLS8rW7

— Kashmir Hill (@kashhill) July 31, 2012

Guy Adams has an article up at The Independent relaying the new information.

Plenty of people disagree that I broke said rules. And many have also pointed out that Twitter’s actions seem a bit rum… because the popular, but currently-not-very-lucrative site just so happens to be in a commercial relationship with NBC.

This evening, an ominous development: according to an NBC spokesman called Christopher McCloskey, it was the micro-blogging site – and not NBC – that was responsible for initiating the complaint that lead to my suspension in the first place.

I’d be fascinated to hear how Twitter explain or justify this.

Mr. Adams says he’d love to “get back on Twitter” and he has responded to Twitter’s trust and safety department (his email reply is reprinted in full in his article).

Other Twitter users would also like to hear Twitter explain or justify this action. And that doesn’t include more finger-pointing between NBC/Twitter partners.

Surely the only way for Twitter to keep its crediblility is to apologise to Guy Adams & unsuspend his account asap http://t.co/Lsh1OTrm

— Karolina Sutton (@KarolinaSutton) July 31, 2012

If Twitter gave NBC a "you might want to file a complaint" heads-up about @guyadams , the implications are NOT good. http://t.co/XVlu237I

— wesmorgan1 (@wesmorgan1) July 31, 2012

Spike Lee tweeted a street address for an elderly couple who then had to move, but he was not suspended from Twitter http://t.co/vtoXWr3T

— Poynter (@Poynter) July 31, 2012

“Twitter alerted NBC about Adams's tweets, putting this outrage on Twitter's head rather than on the TV network’s.” http://t.co/gGKQ4EC4

— John Marstall (@iconmaster) July 31, 2012

Cowardly move by NBC and twitter to suspend Guy Adams, furthermore Adams was right: NBC's Olympic coverage is garbage.

— EJ (@jancadanco) July 31, 2012

Did Twitter invite NBC to complain about @guyadams, as NBC claims? Come on, Twitter, talk to us. http://t.co/ib3rSNSr

— Dan Gillmor (@dangillmor) July 31, 2012

Others don’t find it so ominous. Well, they find snark in the ominous, at least.

The arc of Twitter criticism has moved from NBC to Twitter itself to Guy Adams himself. I vote that tomorrow, we all criticize ourselves.

— Kevin Douglas Grant (@kevindgrant) July 31, 2012

Read the tweets of the fellow kicked off twitter for ragging on NBC's Olympics coverage. Guy Adams is a jerk. NBC and Twitter owe him nada

— Don Surber (@donsurber) July 31, 2012

Twitchy will monitor the situation and update as developments occur.

Update: Guy Adams’ account has been reinstated.

Oh. My Twitter account appears to have been un-suspended. Did I miss much while I was away?

— Guy Adams (@guyadams) July 31, 2012

Twitter emails to tell me: "we have just received an update from the complainant retracting their original request…"

— Guy Adams (@guyadams) July 31, 2012

Oh look Guy Adams got unsuspended today like I predicted. Ten smug "told you so" points to me, minus ten for pointing it out.

— Captain Tracy King (@tkingdoll) July 31, 2012

Update: No apology from NBC/Twitter team.

"… Therefore your account has been unsuspended." No further explanation given, or apology offered

— Guy Adams (@guyadams) July 31, 2012

Twitter's full email will be on The Indy's website shortly. Meanwhile I'll be discussing this jolly jape on CNN in about 30 mins

— Guy Adams (@guyadams) July 31, 2012

Update: Where is the coverage?

Is soclal media Olympics guy @RyanSeacrest covering NBCTwittergate yet? Or is that on 5 yr tape delay? ==> http://t.co/JUdkn332

— Michelle Malkin (@michellemalkin) July 31, 2012

Update: Twitter issues an “apology.”

.@guyadams Let me to add my personal apology for your suspension http://t.co/oPFXjEfe is a longer post about private info & our process.

— Alex Macgillivray (@amac) July 31, 2012

So @amac How long was Spike Lee suspended for tweeting the Zimmerman address? Zero minutes? #HollowApology @michellemalkin @guyadams

— Superior Intellect (@Crunchy_G) July 31, 2012

Read more: http://twitchy.com/2012/07/31/nbcfail-or-twitterfail-nbc-now-says-twitter-told-them-to-file-complaint-over-journalist-guy-adams/

Translate »